Year Description Notes Link Image Threads Canonical
2019 New Westminster Salmonbellies  - 1968
Members of the 1968 New Westminster Salmonbellies will tell you their success was due to a perfect mix of youth and experience, speed, defensive toughness, and clutch scoring.

Team Category

New Westminster Salmonbellies - 1968
2013 Kevin Alexander
In the early 1980s, no athlete was bigger in Victoria than Kevin Alexander. The Shamrocks’ high-scoring floor general with the ‘refuse-to-lose’ attitude was a lacrosse force feared and respected around the Western Lacrosse Association and across Canada.

Athlete Category
thread: Kevin Alexander Kevin Alexander
2011 Gary Gait
Simply put, Gait is the greatest lacrosse player the world has ever known.

Athlete category
thread: Gary Gait Gary Gait
2011 Paul Gait

Ask Paul Gait about the biggest surprise of his storied lacrosse career and he’s likely to tell you it’s the fact both he and his twin brother Gary are likely the first two professional lacrosse players to make their entire living from the game.

“Lacrosse chose us,” he says.

Athlete Category
thread: Paul Gait
Paul Gait
2009 Paul Parnell
With all due respect to the good people of Peterborough, Ontario, but Paul Parnell, the ‘Gordie Howe’ of Canadian lacrosse as he’d become known, couldn’t get to BC fast enough.

Athlete Category
Paul Parnell
2009 Sohen Gill

Fame comes with a price.

Just ask Sohen Gill, the hardest-working man in BC lacrosse.

Builder Category
thread: Sohen Gill Sohen Gill
2005 1964 Vancouver Carlings
In a season that can be safely termed just this side of dominant, the Vancouver Carlings box lacrosse club grabbed every conceivable trophy available to be won during the 1964 season. Most importantly, the Carlings won their second straight Mann Cup, indicative of lacrosse supremacy in Canada.

Team Category

1964 Vancouver Carlings
2003 New Westminster Salmonbellies - 1908

When the 1908 New Westminster Salmonbellies field lacrosse team defeated the Montreal Shamrocks to win the Minto Cup it was the start of a BC dynasty that lasted over twenty years.

In those days the Minto Cup was emblematic of the Canadian senior lacrosse championship and was dominated by eastern teams. Field lacrosse was Canada’s national sport, but teams from Montreal, Toronto and Ottawa had been able to keep the Cup from coming out West.

Team Category

New Westminster Salmonbellies - 1908
1999 North Shore Indians - 1936
North Shore Indians were widely credited for drawing attention to the sport of box lacrosse in British Columbia in the 1930s. During the Depression years, the team offered out-of-work fans an escape from the cold reality of the era for only twenty-five cents a ticket.

The North Shore Indians displayed amazing stick skills—their passes had the velocity of shots—and they controlled the game by controlling the ball. Although the team never won a Mann Cup and were in a national final only once, the North Shore Indians, who were mostly from Squamish and also from the Six Nations reserves, were BC’s most exciting team.

Team Category

North Shore Indians - 1936
Wayne Goss
Considered one of the best lacrosse players in the west, Wayne Goss excelled at all aspects of the game from goal scoring and play making to penalty killing and face-offs. Goss retired in 1981 after fourteen seasons with the Salmonbellies. In 1983, his sweater was retired on “Wayne Goss Night” at Queen’s Park Arena. Goss was later also inducted into the Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 1986.
Induction into BC Sports Hall of Fame
Records 1 to 10 of 17
Go to page: