Year Description Notes Link Image Threads Canonical
1967 John Crookall ("Dot")
Athlete category

1967 William Dickinson (Bill)
Athlete category

1967 James Douglas
Athlete category

1967 Cliff Spring ("Doughy")
Athlete category

1967 Alex Turnbull ("Dad")
Athlete category

1968 Douglas Fletcher

Fletcher began organizing minor lacrosse in 1944, and regularly coached or refereed numerous Junior A or Senior B games each week for years. He coached and managed a remarkable thirty-five provincial championship winning lacrosse teams.

Fletcher served on the executive of lacrosse associations for many years including president of the BC Lacrosse Association from 1948-50) and vice-president of the Canadian Lacrosse Association from 1957-63.

Builder category
thread: Douglas Fletcher Douglas Fletcher
Merv Ferguson
Raised in Vancouver, Merv Ferguson was an all-round athlete until stricken with polio. He was one of the few individuals to hold the position of national chairman of three amateur sports organizations concurrently: the Amateur Athletic Union of Canada from 1963-65, the Canadian Lacrosse Association from 1963-65, and the Canadian Amateur Sports Organization (Sports Federation of Canada) from 1964-69. Ferguson is a member of the Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame and the Canadian Amateur Athletic Hall of Fame.
Induction into BC Sports Hall of Fame
Wayne Goss
Considered one of the best lacrosse players in the west, Wayne Goss excelled at all aspects of the game from goal scoring and play making to penalty killing and face-offs. Goss retired in 1981 after fourteen seasons with the Salmonbellies. In 1983, his sweater was retired on “Wayne Goss Night” at Queen’s Park Arena. Goss was later also inducted into the Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 1986.
Induction into BC Sports Hall of Fame
1999 North Shore Indians - 1936
North Shore Indians were widely credited for drawing attention to the sport of box lacrosse in British Columbia in the 1930s. During the Depression years, the team offered out-of-work fans an escape from the cold reality of the era for only twenty-five cents a ticket.

The North Shore Indians displayed amazing stick skills—their passes had the velocity of shots—and they controlled the game by controlling the ball. Although the team never won a Mann Cup and were in a national final only once, the North Shore Indians, who were mostly from Squamish and also from the Six Nations reserves, were BC’s most exciting team.

Team Category

North Shore Indians - 1936
2003 New Westminster Salmonbellies - 1908

When the 1908 New Westminster Salmonbellies field lacrosse team defeated the Montreal Shamrocks to win the Minto Cup it was the start of a BC dynasty that lasted over twenty years.

In those days the Minto Cup was emblematic of the Canadian senior lacrosse championship and was dominated by eastern teams. Field lacrosse was Canada’s national sport, but teams from Montreal, Toronto and Ottawa had been able to keep the Cup from coming out West.

Team Category

New Westminster Salmonbellies - 1908
Records 1 to 10 of 17
Go to page: