Year Description Notes Link Image Threads Canonical
2003 New Westminster Salmonbellies - 1908

When the 1908 New Westminster Salmonbellies field lacrosse team defeated the Montreal Shamrocks to win the Minto Cup it was the start of a BC dynasty that lasted over twenty years.

In those days the Minto Cup was emblematic of the Canadian senior lacrosse championship and was dominated by eastern teams. Field lacrosse was Canada’s national sport, but teams from Montreal, Toronto and Ottawa had been able to keep the Cup from coming out West.

Team Category

New Westminster Salmonbellies - 1908
1999 North Shore Indians - 1936
North Shore Indians were widely credited for drawing attention to the sport of box lacrosse in British Columbia in the 1930s. During the Depression years, the team offered out-of-work fans an escape from the cold reality of the era for only twenty-five cents a ticket.

The North Shore Indians displayed amazing stick skills—their passes had the velocity of shots—and they controlled the game by controlling the ball. Although the team never won a Mann Cup and were in a national final only once, the North Shore Indians, who were mostly from Squamish and also from the Six Nations reserves, were BC’s most exciting team.

Team Category

North Shore Indians - 1936
2005 1964 Vancouver Carlings
In a season that can be safely termed just this side of dominant, the Vancouver Carlings box lacrosse club grabbed every conceivable trophy available to be won during the 1964 season. Most importantly, the Carlings won their second straight Mann Cup, indicative of lacrosse supremacy in Canada.

Team Category

1964 Vancouver Carlings
2019 New Westminster Salmonbellies  - 1968
Members of the 1968 New Westminster Salmonbellies will tell you their success was due to a perfect mix of youth and experience, speed, defensive toughness, and clutch scoring.

Team Category

New Westminster Salmonbellies - 1968
1967 Alex Turnbull ("Dad")
Athlete category

1967 Cliff Spring ("Doughy")
Athlete category

1968 Douglas Fletcher

Fletcher began organizing minor lacrosse in 1944, and regularly coached or refereed numerous Junior A or Senior B games each week for years. He coached and managed a remarkable thirty-five provincial championship winning lacrosse teams.

Fletcher served on the executive of lacrosse associations for many years including president of the BC Lacrosse Association from 1948-50) and vice-president of the Canadian Lacrosse Association from 1957-63.

Builder category
thread: Douglas Fletcher Douglas Fletcher
2011 Gary Gait
Simply put, Gait is the greatest lacrosse player the world has ever known.

Athlete category
thread: Gary Gait Gary Gait
1967 James Douglas
Athlete category

1967 John Crookall ("Dot")
Athlete category

Records 1 to 10 of 17
Go to page: